Elopement reviews

Charlotte & Stephen, November 2020

Dear Nicola & all the team at Ever After

To start with just wanted to say how grateful we are on being able to have our special day without any cancellations due to the covid 19 pandemic. We were able to enjoy our day two days to spare before we went into a second national lockdown!

We found out about Ever After by searching for elopement weddings on Google. I narrowed the search down to a few by following their social media pages and decided that Ever After was the perfect venue for us.

The whole process of booking was stress free. We didn’t need to worry about organising flowers, food or photography etc as this was all going to be arranged for us. We told the venue we wanted a romantic, rustic, vintage feel and this is definitely what we got.

We arrived the day before our wedding as was blown away by the honeymoon cottage. It was cosy and the perfect place for newly weds. I was very impressed by the bathroom……total bath goals!!

On the day of our wedding we made breakfast and then parted ways to start getting ready. Stephen went to the annexe which is next door to the honeymoon cottage. I was then visited by Tyler who did my makeup from No 5 Aesthetics and Beauty and Ashley from The Hair Lounge. Both girls were very professional and made me feel beautiful. I was then met Martine who was helping organise the running of the day, she couldn’t do anything more for us. Then Amanda dropped off my bouquet and Stephens button hole. The flowers were gorgeous.  Clare the photographer took pictures of me getting ready and of me making my way down to the ceremony.

The ceremony was just beautiful, we got married next to an open log fire and surrounded by candles and fairy lights. After the ceremony we took a woodlands walk with Clare to have more pictures. The photos were ready to view online by the next day on the evening. We are amazed at how beautiful they are, thank you Clare.

After our wedding meal we were left to our own devices and spent the rest of the afternoon and early evening enjoying being newly weds. It was just perfect.

For any other couples who want a stress free, intimate wedding this is the place for you.

Finally we want to thank all involved in creating our perfect day.

Kind regards
Charlotte and Stephen x

Ellie & Niall, October 2020

We found Ever After whilst looking online for a venue that specialises in small weddings. We only wanted a small wedding with 10 people and nowhere else seemed to offer such a thing. When we first saw Ever After online we both said how we needed to see the place in person. We visited only a few days later and Nicola was so welcoming, polite and friendly. We walked out and just beamed and both said ‘this is the place!’. We didn’t even need to look anywhere else.
Nicola was amazing throughout the Covid-19 pandemic. We had to postpone our July date and she helped us to find another suitable date and kept us informed the whole time. We weren’t charged any extra costs for changes and everything was so easy.
The day was perfect, in fact it was even better than we expected it to be. It ran so smoothly with no hiccups and it was amazing to finally get married!
What we loved was how easy it was and not having to worry about the day. The team decorates everything for you and uses your pinterest board to do it to your taste. It is so simple and really helps to take the stress away. The venue itself is stunning! The ponds, flowers and little apple orchard is just so magical to take your first walks as a married couple in.
If you are looking for an intimate venue with an amazing team to support you through the whole process, then Ever After is perfect for you!
Ellie & Niall

October 2020

We had an utterly fantastic wedding at Ever After.  We’re both quiet people and the idea of eloping was in mind from the start.

We found Ever After following much searching, we really wanted something where everything was included and didn’t want to have to search in an unfamiliar area for suppliers of various things.  We got exactly this, the flowers, food, cake, and photographer were all supplied. (We were also able to use recommended hair and makeup people, but neither of us are “girly” girls so we didn’t use them!)

When we arrived we found the cottage, it’s really beautiful, we’re both suckers for a fire so (despite it not being very cold) we got that lit quickly!  We loved the fact the whole site was solely for our wedding, we wouldn’t be bumping into guests from other parties.

The wedding itself was our fairytale, autumn is our favourite season and the colour of the leaves on the trees was amazing and the rain stopped just at the right time.  We were informed what to do when, Martine kept us up to date on everything, which really helped calm nerves.  The ceremony was exactly what we’d hoped for, with so few people we felt very comfortable.  And the fireside was made to look so cosy and autumnal, the team had obviously looked at  our Pinterest board!

Clare, the photographer, was outstanding, we were put at ease immediately and the results are so beautiful, we really feel she captured us completely.

Once we’d eaten we were left with the open fire, candles and cosy surroundings to have a romantic rest of the day.  It was so relaxing to know we weren’t going to be interrupted and could just be us two in our bubble.

Thank you to all of the team, it was the day we’d hoped for, totally unforgettable!

Charlotte & Mark, October 2020

Good morning both,
I wanted to send a huge, heartfelt thank you for all your help in arranging what was the most perfect wedding day for us!
Every little detail was exactly how we had hoped they would be and more! Your venue is truly stunning and we feel so proud and privileged to have wed there!
The team were so helpful and friendly –
no ask to big or troublesome! The providers you used from caterers to florists were all exquisite – I’ll be sending separate emails to them too!
Once again, thanks so much for helping to create the most memorial wedding day for us to cherish always!
All the best to you and may your business continue to flourish – will always highly recommend Ever After!
Many thanks,
Charlotte & Mark

Reni & Phil, October 2020

Hi Nicola,

Just wanted to reiterate how much we enjoyed our wedding day at Ever After.
Everyone who has seen our pics have fallen in love with your venue including ourselves 😊
Clare is absolutely amazing and really understanding, the flowers done by Amanda blew my mind and everyone loved the cake. You have great suppliers and staff 5*+ to Martine.
Finally, Just want to say thank you, for making our special day really memorable.
Kind regards,

Reni and Phil

Nicola & Michael, October 2020

Hi Nicola,

I consider us very lucky, weather wise and lockdown wise to have had the wedding when we did. Heartbreaking for others now though.

I had a wonderful day, lovely and intimate just the way we wanted. The honeymoon cottage is out of this world, if the bathroom wasnt fixed down I’d have had it away !!

I wouldnt change a thing, I would do it again in a heart beat.

Thankyou once again for opening up your beautiful home and grounds and giving us a very special weekend. Five stars from me !

Carly & Michael, October 2020

Hi Nicola

3 weeks wow! We are so grateful for everything that you all did to make our day so wonderful and special. I feel terribly for those brides affected again by the upcoming lockdown, this year has been so unfair and so many levels.
We love our photos – the stars of the show had to be the pups, by allowing us to have our pups with us truly made our day.  I was worried that Pippin would turn into the screaming banshee that she can be but they both settled right in, Arlington in particular loved playing with Chip and Spud.
I found Lower Grenofen by googling the heck out of the word ‘UK Elopement’.  From there I found you on Instagram and Pinterest. Both platforms have fabulous content to give you a good vision of what is on offer.
The word elopement caught my eye. Then it was your magical photos, especially the dining set up, the river walk, the wood and you being in the middle of nowhere!!
Aside from no one being present when we arrived, we fell  in love with lower Grenofen. While we waited for text messages to be answered we went for walk in the woods, so pretty. I love the fact that you’re in the middle of nowhere.  The cottage is lovely and very clearly done with a lot of thought.  The additional touches of food goodies was lovely too.
The fact that you offered a personalised unique experience in a wonderful setting, and your price package was spot on is what made us book.
We booked quite late on but Flora was fab at keeping us up to date.  Not once did I feel overwhelmed or left hanging for further details.
Because I had not seen the ceremony area setup I was gobsmacked at how wonderful it looked when I walked into the area to see Michael and Arlington wagging his tail.
There really isn’t anything I would do differently. It was everything that we wanted.
Advice: don’t be afraid to completely elope.  It’s magical.  Take up on the extra hour of photography by Clare for some wonderful photos by the river.  We asked Ollie to change our food menu and he did, my husband chose steak which he thoroughly enjoyed.  A Pinterest board was perfect to share ideas with all the suppliers, especially if like us were travelling long distance.
Also, I have to say that the registrars were brilliant.
We are so happy that we chose Lower Grenofen.  After our elopement to Canada was cancelled due to COVID-19 I was worried that our only option to get married was a registry office, not quite the forest elopement we were after.  I researched several options within Yorkshire and not one was a patch on Ever After.  Communication was spot on by all. All the suppliers are excellent at what they do and goods they provide, their enthusiasm showed through every element of their work. You provided the most perfect day and those memories will be ours to treasure forever. Thank you.
Carly & Michael

Laura & Adam, October 2020

We have received our photos from Clare and we are so pleased with them, she has done an amazing job and is a wonderful person.

All of the staff were lovely, Martine who looked after us on the day  was amazing, so I would like to thank her for that.

The food was excellent, taste and presentation was outstanding. The cake was gorgeous and more. The flowers were stunning and beyond anything I could have imagined, Amanda did a great job.

The girls who did my hair and makeup, Jodie and Taylor were so calming and lovely. They made me feel so at ease.

We enjoyed our day a lot, the location and ceremony was perfect.

Pippa & Theo, October 2020

Dear Nicola,

We wanted to write to say thank you so very much as we had the most wonderful wedding yesterday – it was absolutely perfect!!
We really enjoyed the ceremony and it was amazing to have it in the beautiful barn. The reception area also looked stunning – the set up and decoration was fabulous and we and all of our guests had a wonderful time!!
The suppliers were all fantastic too. I absolutely loved the flowers which were incredible as was the cake which also tasted delicious.  The food was lovely and got many compliments. We loved Clare the photographer and she has already sent through our album and from a quick look it looks like she has taken many amazing shots.
We can’t thank you enough as we feel very lucky to have had our big day at Lower Grenofen – it was more than we could have wished for!
Thank you again to you and Flora for all the planning and then for the most wonderful day.
Best wishes,
Pippa and Theo xx

Jess & Ted, September 2020

Thank you so much for helping us still have an amazing day in spite of the state of the world right now!

We made a pretty last minute decision for look for a venue specialising in elopement packages following the scuppering of our original plans – and Nicola and the team were incredibly helpful from day 1!

We’re based 5+ hours away so couldn’t visit, but the site is even better than the photos! It was perfect to be able to turn our wedding into a beautiful and tranquil getaway, just the two of us – the woodland setting for photos and general exploring, and the private accommodation, sealed the deal for us. Would absolutely recommend for any engaged couples wondering what to do right now!

Kelly & Max, September 2020

Hi Nicola,
We just wanted to say a massive thank you for everything you did for our special day on Thursday. Your venue is so stunning, even more so than in all of the pictures I had seen. The cottage was perfect and had everything we needed and more. The barn and the terrace were beautiful and we are so happy that we chose Ever After as our wedding venue. We are so glad that you managed to fit us in before baby comes along.
Please thank Martine for us, she was so accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you both for looking after Teddy and Toby for us during the ceremony and whilst Max and I had pictures taken, it was so appreciated. The table set up was beautiful too! I can’t stop looking at all the pictures!
Wishing you all the best,
Kelly and Max

Rachel & Scott, September 2020

Hi Nicola

First of all, can we say thank you for our amazing day. We would not have changed a thing. The setting for the ceremony, the flowers, the meal and the pictures were beyond anything we could have ever hoped for. One of our friends commented about one of the woodland pictures that she expected fairies to pop out of the bushes and float around in the background!

When searching for a venue (yes, using good ole Google) what caught our eye was A) the amazing setting that was fantastically highlighted by Clare’s brilliant photography and B) the fact that most of the major decisions that accompany getting married – finding a photographer, a caterer and flowers – were already supplied within the price. Again, Clare’s photography made us very confident that no matter what we got from your suppliers we were going to be very happy with.

All of your suppliers were amazing and all exceeded our expectations. We weren’t just happy- we were thrilled. The food and flowers were simply brilliant. Taylor’s meal was every bit as good as any we’ve ever had. The flowers were stunning and were exactly what we wanted. And a special mention also needs to go to both the hairdresser and makeup girl for their efforts made more difficult with all the Covid-19 restrictions they needed to work with.

As we thankfully didn’t have months of planning involved, we can’t really comment about the build up because it all happened so fast. Again, the fact that most of the additional planning around food, photographer and flowers was already more or less done was a big factor in deciding to book with Ever After.

Everything we’d seen online made us confident all would be amazing on the day, and it most certainly was.

As for advice for other couples, the only thing we wish we had done differently was to take a moment when we were walking from the cottage to the ceremony to stop outside the wedding barn and compose ourselves. There is no rush but we marched straight in and then suddenly realized that the ceremony had started – it somehow took us by surprise!

Our day was perfect from start to finish.  Yes – the sun shining helped enormously.  The venue and location are amazing (you are very lucky) – but it is set up to work whatever the weather. We loved Spud and Chip (and Hazel did too of course!) and the dogs playing as we drunk our champagne was brilliant fun. It wasn’t the first wedding for either of us – but it was most definitely the best for both of us!!

Rachel & Scott

Hannah & Josh, August 2020

Hi Nicola,

Sending a massive thank you for allowing us to have the best day of our lives at your gorgeous home. I can’t explain how special the entire day was, from getting ready in the beautiful cottage to how stunning the ceremony area was and of course how gorgeous you set up the dining/evening area.

Once again, thank you for everything, especially throughout covid and moving the date, saving us two dates ! and being so on top of informing us about everything. We really lucked out coming to you and I am forever grateful!

Best wishes,

Hannah & Josh

 

Gemma & Lewis, August 2020

Hi Nicola
We had an absolutely incredible day and wouldn’t have wanted to have done anything differently. We were so taken aback by how much thought you had all put in to making everything look so beautiful and run so smoothly!
The pictures are amazing and we’re so pleased with what Claire managed to achieve.
We were also very impressed with the food! Ollie did an amazing job, everyone is still talking about how good the bubble and squeak was.
The cake from Harrie was delicious and so beautifully presented, especially with Amanda’s amazing choices of flowers.

You work with some incredibly talented people and we really can’t thank you enough for giving us everything we wanted from our wedding day.

Best wishes
Gemma

Annette & Kevin, November 2019

bride & groom outdoor wedding photography
Hi Nicola and Kerry,
We are one month on from our wedding. Wow, that has flown by and we have been reflecting back with the wonderful photos.
We both wish to thank everyone at Ever After for making our day so magical and special.
Our 4 guests also couldn’t praise the staff and venue enough.
The food was fantastic, the flowers were gorgeous and us girls felt really special with our wonderful hair styles.
The venue was idyllic and has been a great talking point with friends and family.
We had been together for 24 years and wanted somewhere different and special to set us on the road for married life.  Ever After was that place, which will forever be in our memories.
Not sure if Clare has yet shared the photos with you.  If not let me know and I will forward some on.
Thank you once again for such a special day.
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Annette and Kevin
(the new Mr & Mrs Lewis)

Amy & Christian, October 2019

Hi Nicola
I’m just writing to say a massive thank you to you, your husband and team at Ever After for our gorgeous wedding in October (sorry it’s taken me so long!) It was everything we could’ve wished for and more! We still can’t get over how beautiful your venue is! Nothing was too much trouble and we felt so welcomed!
Our families absolutely loved the venue too, so much that my parents are considering coming back to renew their vows in a couple of years! We’ve also had so many compliments from friends back home about your gorgeous venue!
Thank you again and we wish you all the best for future!
Amy & Christian xx

Caroline & David, September 2019

bride and groom photographs

“I’ve been meaning to get in touch as I had promised to summarise how idyllic our wedding was. 

I procrastinated as I thought it would be useful for you if I crafted something special that maybe you could use on your website, something that really captured what we experienced.  Well, I’ve realised that’s impossible!!!

I moved on to wanting to make you a photo gift.  A second one was designed for my furry guests!  I was a bit embarrassed as obviously you are very creative and work with artistic people all the time!!…. so that hasn’t happened yet!

Oh it then changed again… I pressed my bouquet petal by petal and wanted to make a hand made card.  I wanted to do something to capture how special I felt when saying thank you to you.  

And so the procrastination grew!!  And continues!!!  Including still being glued to your website and Instagram!!! 

In the meantime we have been looking at all the photos everyday, reminiscing about how you and David made it happen in less than 10 days!!  What fun! Everyone we share our experience with is in awe of you and your vision for your business.   David is one of five children and the last to get married, My sister In law, Stephanie, said David saved the best to last!  We bought our Mothers a  Pandora leaf  necklace each to remember the woodland wedding.  I’m not sure they’ve taken them off!  They certainly never stop talking about our ‘Ever’ After’ wedding. 

The reason for my email is that I want to make sure I say thank you.  I / We will be forever grateful for your support in making it a legal ceremony at such short notice – we could never have achieved this without your guidance. It was extra special not having to compromise. 

As for your ‘Ever After’ experience itself…. how do I encapsulate that?  I don’t think you can. I mainly express myself with tears of joy.  It’s too hard to explain how special our time was.  Luckily Clare Kinchin’s photos can help bridge the lack of appropriate words!!!  This would truly be the case regardless of my cancer.  ‘Ever After’ would have been the most perfect venue for myself and David if we had trawled the united Kingdom looking for something that was just ‘me and David’. 

I was completely at peace with the fact that David may have preferred to be remained engaged rather than be the center of attention at a wedding (I’m very similar). To see him so relaxed and in the moment in your setting and choosing your elopement style wedding was an absolute joy for me.  Still is. 

There’s so much to say about your team and all the 100s of things you did behind the scenes that we didn’t even have to think about. I am grateful for those things but don’t want to go into it as it takes my thoughts away from the fact that it felt like it happened by magic (and I want to keep it that way)!!!

I feel lighter for trying to say thank you to you for my beautiful memories of David becoming my husband.  

I wish you, your team  and my favourite boys (Chip & Spud) all the very best.

Much Love 

MRS Caroline Reynolds!!”

Sharon & Kevin, April 2019

Hello you wonderful people

I truly can not put into words, how absolutely perfect our day was yesterday.

The venue..  could not have been more amazing if I had created It myself.  Nicola it is definitely a one of a kind out of this world venue & you are a perfect host.

Harrie, Amanda & Clare OMG you certainly are the dream team  – We were honoured & privileged to have had all of your amazing creations.  Clare you made being photographed a little less painful – really didn’t feel like we were being photographed at all.
You truly are all brilliant at your jobs ❤❤❤

Rosie you have been perfect, I have not worried about anything & have been there every time I emailed (even stupid o clock on a Sunday evening!!)

The day could not have been any more perfect..  you are all amazing & we thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

All our love Mr & Mrs Clark  aka Kev & Sharon xxxxx

Jessi & Mark, April 2019

Good Afternoon Nicola,

Everything is fantastic with Mark and I, thank you. Married life feels great and we feel so much more in love and filled with more purpose than ever before. What a beautiful thing!

I struggle to find the words to describe our wedding photos that will give them the credit they truly deserve, but a word that comes to mind is … breathtaking! Clare perfectly captured all of our little BIG moments! We were looking for a more natural and impromptu approach to our photos and that is what we received. We are left thinking we should have kept her around in the evening for the dancing and games! I can only imagine how well she would have captured our first dance, father daughter dance and all the other dance moves and fun we had in the evening on the terrace.  We simply cannot believe the quality and quantity of photos that she produced. We thought it would feel awkward and perhaps we wouldn’t pose right for the 1:1 photo op in the forest, but we looked forward to it none the less. We found the experience to be the exact opposite; we felt right in our element and had a blast, to Clare’s credit.  She was lovely to be around and made the process feel natural and fun.

We found Ever After: A Dartmoor Wedding on good ole Google! We searched elopement packages in the United Kingdom (I believe) and there Ever After popped up. It was the first venue we looked at in our search, but we took a couple more days to look through a few others. Whilst looking at other venues, we found ourselves constantly comparing everything to Ever After. We live in North East England, therefore Lower Grenofen was quite the trek for our wedding – however, we very quickly realized that Ever After was the venue for us despite the distance and we saw that a date became available for April 2019 (Thank god!). We saw the distance as an opportunity to make a trip away with close friends and family in further celebration of our nuptials – which turned out perfect, as did our wedding day. We had quality time with our loved ones and the Devon area is truly gorgeous. We hope to return for our anniversary at some point in years to come.

What initially caught our eye during our search was the ceremony terrace – we wanted an outdoor English countryside feel, whilst still having shelter for all possible weather forecasts. The Terrace is beautifully decorated, and I absolutely loved the glass rooftop and the large wood burning fireplace. We could clearly see on the website that the property was lavishly covered in florals and a green landscape completely surrounding the terrace. We never envisioned having our wedding in a rental tent marque or hall, so Ever After’s elopement package was perfect in this respect.

A few other things that caught our eye was…
– Dogs allowed! We adore our pup, Finn. He is part of our family and we were keen to have him join our joyous festivities.
– The honeymoon cottage. We wanted to have a bit of an oasis to relax in prior to and directly following the wedding. The honeymoon cottage was well received both on the website and in person – especially for its décor, balcony and deep soaker bath tub!
– The elopement package included everything aside from alcohol (which is still available at an extra cost, I believe, from reading the venue blog). Most elopement packages differed in what they offered, many of which required us to still seek out our own separate vendors for certain elements of the day. We loved that with Ever After, all things are well considered and included in the package price. When we looked up the contracted Ever After vendors on Instagram, we were blown away with each and every skillset of the team involved.
– The package was absolute luxury at an affordable price for us. It ticked many important boxes for us that other venue packages simply didn’t for similar cost.
– The real elopement weddings section on the website. This gave us a great idea of what other couples elopements looked like, with honest and detailed reviews of their experience.

After realizing that Ever After was definitely the venue for us, we sent an email over to you (Nicola) to enquire about the date and other questions we had. You replied promptly within 24 hours and offered to speak to me over the phone to answer some of our more in depth questions. This was greatly appreciated! You held the date available by a couple of days for Mark and I to discuss the answers I had received over the phone. This was the first highlight of that no-stress ethos that Ever After promises… and delivered! 

We paid our deposit and started planning. Our experience in the months leading up to the big day was easy and fun – I enjoyed planning! I’m a very organized, detail-oriented person, but also a person who greatly enjoys a low stress life. You always hear about how stressful wedding planning can be, but honestly, I didn’t find that to be the case at all. Rosie and all the vendors worked very well with each other and us at prompting thoughts on things we hadn’t considered, answering all of my questions and attentively collecting all of the little elements of our day to create the vision we had in mind.
Each element of our Wedding Day far surpassed what we had envisioned in our mind. The team at Ever After took everything on board and tied it together seamlessly; We were in awe, and so were our guests.  The flowers from Amanda were amazing. She made extra bouquets for our daughter and maid of Honour, and another buttonhole for our Best Man for a great price. Lauren from No.5 made me feel gorgeous and helped me decide the look I was going for, asking all the right questions and trying a couple different looks. Harrie helped us come up with custom menus for our family of picky eaters and our vegetarian Maid of Honour. The cake and food were full of flavor and enjoyed by all. She even packed up the extra chicken for our dog! A treat he thoroughly enjoyed.  

Our first impression upon arrival the evening before our wedding day was – wow – pure happiness! We had no clue what we would receive other than what the website and Instagram delivered. Due to being from 6 hours away, we hadn’t had the chance to visit prior, though Nicola offered. What is available online accurately depicts what you see upon arrival. Actually, both of us and many of our guests that had researched Ever After prior to the wedding said that the venue was even more gorgeous in person, which says a lot if you’ve looked at all of the pictures online.

We loved the privacy of the terrace location. We loved the proximity to the Riverbank and Dartmoor National Park (big outdoors people, we are). We loved everything.
We found pure bliss on our wedding morning, waking up with breakfast supplies ready for us to cook together. We made breakfast and had coffee on that beautiful balcony and in that moment, everything felt so right. What a great way to spend our morning before we would become Husband and Wife. After breakfast, we went our separate ways to get ready. There was space for Mark separate from me in a different part of the venue property. Rosie checked in on us both throughout the morning, and all of the vendors arrived with big smiles on their faces, eager to share the loving labour of their trades and well wishes for Mark and I. There wasn’t a thing I needed to think about other than how I wanted my makeup, which No.5 MUA Lauren made easy as well.    

I think our favourite moment on the day (of which there were many) was directly after the ceremony when we had the opportunity to spend our first moments as husband and wife with a glass of champagne and our loved ones followed by our riverbank/forest photoshoot, just the two of us. It was the best of both worlds and we were feeling so full of love. 

The only thing I’d do differently in hindsight is arrive at the venue earlier (we were delayed and didn’t arrive until nearly 8pm the night before our wedding). I would have liked to have more time to relax in the cottage and also have a little rehearsal of the walk into the ceremony with our small wedding party. We were all a little lost at what to do and when prior to the ceremony, which Rosie pretty much saved us on! However, I got so caught up in my excitement and emotions (happy ones – mainly OMG this is the song… I can’t look at anyone or I’ll walk in crying emotions) … that long story short, I completely forgot to link my Father’s arm and walk in with him. Something he has been waiting for all his parental life. I just darted it down the aisle and Dad close behind, bless him! It was still a very special moment and something we all laugh at now but would have been good to have practiced just a couple of times. To each their own though! Spontaneity can be equally refreshing and hey, we have a funny story to boot now. 

The advice I’d give other couples looking to book Ever After as their venue, or currently planning your dream wedding with Ever After is…

1. Don’t sweat the small stuff – Not everything goes exactly to plan despite everyone’s best efforts. Expect something to go slightly different than you expected, but also see the beauty in that! Roll with it and try not to sweat it. Ever After will help with anything that may go off plan and they are pretty darn good at ensuring as much goes to plan as possible. Remember what your day is all about – you’ll quickly realize that all that really matters is sharing that intimate moment of saying I do to a lifetime with your best friend and everything else is a big bonus.  

2. Trust the venue and vendors – they are fantastic and are all very talented in their own respects. When it comes to planning and how everything came together, we wouldn’t change a thing. Something that helped us, was looking at pictures of other weddings that had occurred at Ever After and pulling pieces that we loved or felt fit our vision well. This, alongside inspo pictures from Pinterest really helped me and the team at Ever After’s understanding of our vision. Share with them your personal vision and trust that they will deliver!

 

3. Eat the cake – I’m not a huge cake fan. I thought it was going to be more for Mark and our guests apart from a small finger sized piece for me per tradition, but wow, Harrie knows how to make a cake lover out of me. It was so good – thanks Harrie!

4. If you can afford it, book an extra hour or 2 with the Photographer – Clare Kinchan. I promise you; it is money well spent. 

5. Lastly, enjoy every single moment – the day goes by so fast. Everyone says that, but truly, “time flies when you’re having fun” will have a whole different meaning on your wedding day. Our daughter said before going to sleep that she wished we had all just woke up so she could experience the whole day again. I couldn’t agree more. It will be one of the best days, if not thee Best Day of your life. It surely was ours. Soak every moment in, every scent, every feeling, everything. 

We feel so very thankful to all of you involved in making our Wedding Day so special. It truly was everything we had hoped for, and more Nicola, thank you a million times over. 

Kindest Regards, 

Mark & Jessi Farrell

Charlotte & Shaun, September 2018

real summer elopement at ever after charlotte & shaun

“We recently had our wedding with Ever After and went for the elopment package. We spent three years trying to find a wedding that was right for us, we wanted it to be simple, just the two of us but still have all the elements of a wedding that make it special and that’s exactly what we got! I have spent days, if not weeks on google researching elopment venues all over the country and the world and happened to come across the Ever After website. The pretty scenery and cottage had me contacting Nicola and securing our date within an hour.

We booked our date with only a few months to go and everyone at Ever After was so helpful. We were given a guide of what we needed to plan and time scales to help us.  All the details are thought of and arranging the wedding was so straight forward. The photographer, chef and florist all got in touch via email. I had complete freedom over my choices but was also given help and advice where needed. Everyone I spoke with was so nice and I really felt as though I knew everyone before I met them all. It was the simplest easiest way to plan a wedding and I had no stress at all! I was also put in touch with a local hairdresser and makeup artist for on the day which was helpful as I do not live locally.

When arriving at the venue I was so surprised at how stunning it was. The pictures online are amazing but nothing compared to real life. The cottage and surrounds are stunning, I never wanted to leave. All the personal touches such as having the fridge stocked and biscuits to eat made it very welcoming.

My favourite moment of the wedding was feeling like it was just about us. With other weddings you are trying to please all your guests whereas at Ever After everyone is working to make your day perfect and it really is all about you. There were no worries and everything ran smoothly making the day romantic and intimate. Everyone who was involved came to chat and check we were comfortable and then gave us plenty of time and space to enjoy the day.

I was worried I would regret having the wedding as just the two of us but it was just right and I wouldn’t change a thing. There is plenty of room for larger weddings, which would also be beautiful in the setting. I would advise any other couples planning their day to go with Ever After as it can be designed exactly the way you want it and the simplicity of it is brilliant. I have watched so many people plan weddings and be running around every night to meet with different people and put it all together. It has been stressful for them and here it is all in one place.

Overall our mini break and wedding were the most amazing few days and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful setting to wed. I would just like to thank Nicola, Bethany and all the other ladies for the most wonderful wedding and happy memories. I would love to visit again one day.”

Sarah & Phil, August 2018

bride & groom outdoor photography

Dear Nicola,

Thank you for our perfect elopement at Ever After in August.

We were thrilled with every element of our day. The venue itself is absolutely stunning- the location, the gardens and woodlands, the honeymoon cottage and the terrace where our ceremony was held. And to have it to ourselves was amazing and helped to make the day special- something we had worried about with an elopement.

We also worried that, because we didn’t have a ‘vision’ of our day- we just wanted to get married!- that our day might be lacking somehow. But we needn’t have worried; you and your professional team ensured a romantic, special day that we’ll remember forever.

We also loved Sarah’s flowers; are thrilled with Clare’s photography and the food that Harrie provided was, for us, sublime. And we can’t wait to see our video from Caroline and Chris!

Thanks also to you and Bethany for your advice and help before the day and for Bethany’s calmness on the day. She ended up helping me into my dress ,, and i’m not sure that in my nervous state i even thanked her!

Bethany and Emma made us comfortable after our photos and made sure we had all we needed- Lotty (dog) was even treated to a special doggy ice cream.

You have amazing wedding venue and team- our is the best wedding we’ve ever been to!

Perhaps we might return for a celebration and bring some friends and family next time?!

Thank you all for a day we will never forget.

Phil & Sarah xxx

Nicola & Steve, June 2018

bride & groom outdoor photography

Dear Nicola & Steve (my fairy godmother)

A massive thank you for making our wedding day so magical, we couldn’t have wished for a more perfect day. As you know the memories will be so special for so many reasons.

We cant thank you enough for ‘bending the rules’ and enabling it all to happen so quickly.

Best wishes,

Nicola & Steve

Gemma & Fraser, April 2018

family wedding photography

Dear Nicola, Bethany & Emma,

We just wanted to say a huge thank you to you all for making our wedding day so special. We could not have wished for a better location to get married, everything seemed to come together in such a relaxed way. We are truly grateful for a magical day that we and our children will never forget.

Best wishes,

Gemma & Fraser

Cassie & Thomas, March 2018

“Dear Nicola,

We can’t thank you enough for giving us this beautiful & magical venue for our special day. We had the most wonderful day with our nearest and dearest but you and your team helped create a day to truly and always remember.

Thank you for having us.

Thomas & Cassie”

Heather & Thomas, March 2018

“Hi Nicola / Bethany,

We just wanted to say a huge thank you for all you did for us on Monday. We had a fantastic day. Every detail had been thought of and was perfect for us.

Thanks for being so attentive and welcoming. All round Tom and I had a great day.

Best wishes

Heather and Tom”

Laura & Mark, February 2018

“Hi Nicola and Bethany,

We just wanted to say thank you for such an amazing day, it was even more special than we could ever have imagined.

The venue is absolutely stunning and the staff were so helpful and made the day run perfectly. It was truly a big small wedding with no stress just enjoyment.

Thank you again and we can’t wait to see Clare’s photos.

Best wishes and thank you again, Laura and Mark”

Louise & Paul, November 2017

louise, paul & family review page

“Hi Nicola,

Thank you so much for making our wedding day everything we wanted and more.  It was perfect and we loved every minute of it.  The team you have and yourself are all amazing, we cannot thank you all enough.

We adore the photos, they made us all cry when we looked through them.  I can’t wait to get some hung around our home.  Everybody we have shown them to think the pictures and your venue are stunning. Ooooh I can’t wait to see pics on your social media 🙂 feel free to use them how and when ever you like, all our family now know and have seen the pictures.

Thank you once again from all of us.

Love Louise, Paul and family x”

 

Laura & Ian, November 2017

elopement review page laura and ian

“Just a email to say a massive thank you for making our day perfect, really was above and beyond all our expectations.

From the stunning cottage, to our beautiful ceremony, lavish reception to the most wonderful photos that we will cherish forever. The venue and surrounding area is absolutely beautiful.

Like a fairy tale story, absolutely stunning.

Ian and I are currently enjoying our honeymoon in Tenerife and we are still talking about how wonderful it was.

So thank you again.

Many thanks and best wishes

Mr and Mrs Yorath x “

Liz & John, October 2017

elopement review page liz and john

“Ever After was one of the first hits after searching Google for elopement weddings in the south west, and from that first glance at the website we didn’t look back! Looking through all the pictures and details on the website we knew that it was perfect for what we wanted; an intimate celebration, just the two of us.

We decided not to visit before the day; we wanted it to be a surprise. Nicola was fantastic at answering our (many!) questions and all the correspondence was helpful and reassuring. The run up to the wedding was so relaxed and easy. We had nothing to worry about; all was taken care of for us from the décor to the food to the flow of the day. All we had to do was turn up with the outfits and the rings!

We were so excited to finally get there and our first impressions of the venue confirmed beyond a doubt that we had made the best choice – it was stunning! We arrived the day before the wedding and had chance to soak up the beautiful and quiet atmosphere with a walk in the woods followed by a bottle of champagne in our cottage.

Our wedding day was perfect, it was exactly as we had wished it to be.  The decorations were beautiful, the food was unbelievable, the photographer was fabulous, the log fire was luxuriously romantic, everything had been perfectly organised (by Nicola!) and felt so natural and relaxed.

Our advice to other couples would be to let Ever After do all the hard work! Nicola definitely knows what she is doing and there isn’t a single thing we would do differently! We are so happy that we chose to celebrate our wedding at Ever After, a perfect beginning to our own happily ever after!

Liz & John”

 

Leanne & Sam, October 2017

elopement review page leanne and sam

“As soon as my partner and I decided we wanted to go away and elope we literally just googled ‘elope in the uk’ and after about an hour of browsing we felt that Ever After was the perfect backdrop for our small, intimate wedding. We love nature, we love the forest and the location was just stunning.

I loved the fact that there was an amazing package deal. Usually with package deals you get the basic quality food/flowers/photography etc so I loved the fact that with Ever After all of the extras were of the highest standard and highly rated by previous customers.

We left after visiting Ever After beaming from ear to ear. We were like ‘WOW.’ I loved how relaxed and in control Nicola seemed, I knew that the day would go perfectly in her hands.

The location, the extras, the price…..everything about what was being offered seemed reasonably priced and stress free, those are the reasons we booked Ever After. I also loved we had access to the entire venue for almost two days!

We only had about 10 weeks to prepare from the moment of booking to the actual ceremony.  It was relatively stress free apart from trying to create a suitable menu for my extremely fussy family. It was mainly my family causing me to get stressed, Harriet the chef was amazing to accommodate my requests and we ended up with the most delicious food ever. My husband (who is a massive cheesecake fan) said the white chocolate cheesecake Harriet made, for our dessert, was the best he ever had.

Being invited on a quad bike to go into the depths of the woods to take some amazing quality photos was one of my fave moments of the day. I surprised myself at how relaxed I was about getting my dress dirty; I just didn’t care. Ha. Being able to just relax and chill out in the evening was also amazing.

There is absolutely nothing we’d do differently. It was perfect. Complete and utter perfection.

My advice to other couples is if you want to elope just do it. I had never thought I wanted to elope but it was honestly the best thing in the world. I didn’t have to spend ages greeting all the guests and doing speeches and getting favours for all those that attended. It was simple and easy.

Thank you so so much Nicola, for giving us the most perfect day. I will never forget it.  I have people telling me they can’t believe how gorgeous the flowers were (especially that they were included in the package) and how amazing the photography was. It has got people who never wanted to elope questioning whether they should go and do it! Thank you so much Nicola!!!”

 

Clare & Simon, October 2017

elopement review page clare and simon

“Ever After was such a magical place for our elopement wedding. We felt so cocooned down in the wooded valley in our own little wedding bubble that we didn’t want to leave after 2 days tucked away from the world.

When we got engaged we both decided we wanted it to be just be the 2 of us and starting looking for somewhere which did elopement/intimate weddings. On finding Ever After online we visited in Aug 2016 and knew this was the place to get married. Then before we knew it….just over a year later we were excited to be making the 4 hour journey to Devon to get married.

Nicola and the team at Ever After really looked after us and we loved the autumn styling for our wedding breakfast…..and over a month on and we still have the miniature pumpkins. The elopement package means that you also experience the skill/dedication of Amanda, Clare and Harrie. I knew my bouquet made by Amanda would be stunning…and it was. Clare made us feel so at ease, that are wedding photos are so relaxed that everyone who had seen them could tell how happy we were on the day. Harrie’s food was tasty and we loved the diary free wedding cake. Nicola also recommend Jodie (Hair) and Jess (Make-up) who did such a good job in making me feel beautiful.

From the minute we arrived to when we left, we loved our two special days at Ever After. Our wedding day was beyond perfect and Lower Grenofen, the wooded valley with its lovely stream will always hold a very special place in our hearts.

Clare and Simon xx”

Karen & Keith, November 2017

elopement review page karen and keith

“Many thanks again for organising our wedding with you last Thursday – both Keith and I thoroughly enjoyed the day and loved the whole style of your venue when we were able to see it in person. It was perfect!

We’re really pleased with the photos Claire took. Like all of the people you recommended she’s extremely able and a great person to be around. Perfect for the occasion, and extremely good at coaxing photos out of people who usually run a mile!

With many thanks again

Karen”

Sarah & Dan, October 2017

elopement review page sarah dan baby bob

“We are so grateful to everyone at Ever After for making our day so special. The help from Nicola and her team with planning and preparation for our special day was amazing especially as we are new parents to our beautiful little baby boy Bob…so this was a real help! They were always there to answer any of our questions ahead of our arrival and went above and beyond for us before and during our stay.

The venue is absolutely gorgeous and is situated in the middle of a woodland, rustic and incredibly charming – no pictures online can do this justice you have to see it!  Most people worry about weather for their special day and we were the same… however we needn’t have as the venue is equally beautiful in all types of weather as we experienced.  Where we stayed was beautifully quaint and all of the little things had been thought of which was really appreciated.

What we found to be a real help during planning was that Nicola put us in contact with Claire (Photographer), Harriet (Chef) and Sarah (Florist) – all of these ladies are incredibly talented and we are so grateful to them for all their hard work. Claire took some incredible photo’s, Harriet’s food & cake was absolutely delicious and Sarah’s work with our flowers and my back piece was something extra special. Thank you all so much!

We also decided to have a video made of our day and we were very fortunate to be able to work with “Baxter & Ted”… Caroline and Chris were just so lovely, they know the site well and we are so excited to see the finished product. Thank you both for all your support… Chris thanks for holding the nappy 🙂

Sally (part of the EA team) who looked after us during the day was so good with Bob! Thank you Sally we appreciated it so much!

What really made our time at EA extra special was the people… everyone went above and beyond for us to make our day perfect.

We feel so lucky to have had you all as part of our special day.

Thank you so much

Love Sarah, Dan & Baby Bob

xxx”

Andrea & Robert, April 2017

review image andrea and rob on riverwalk

“Good morning Nicola,

We just both wanted to say thank you so very much for all you did for us,  no issue was ever too small and of course for all the hard work which went into making our big day on Thursday so very special. We really could not have asked for anything more.

It was lovely to finally meet you. Your team of ladies are a massive credit to you. The flowers, our hair, food, cake, cottage and the oh so beautiful venue. We really could not have wanted nor asked for anything more.

We had the most amazing day ever, and such fond memories to last a lifetime. We can not wait to see the photos! Would do it all over again in a heartbeat.

Thank you

Best wishes

Andrea & Robert

Ps. Thank you for calming my nerves. There really wasn’t a single thing for me to be worried about 😊 “

 

Luci & Neil, April 2017

elopement review page luck neil and dogs

Dear Nicola

Thank you so much in helping us realise our dream in running away & getting married.

The day couldn’t have been more perfect.  We will remember everything you did for the rest of our lives.

Lots of love

Neil, Luci & pups xxx”

 

Sophie & Pepe, April 2017

elopement review page sophie and pepe whiskey lounge

“Dear Nicola (and everyone at lower grenofen, aka the A-team?!!…),

We wanted to say thank you to you all for yesterday and for your amazing work!

We had an completely fantastic time, we are soooooo happy and excited! Everything was perfect and better than we could have imagined!

We will send you all a card but we just wanted to say thank you now before we leave.

All our love,

Sophie and Pepe x x x”

 

Joanna & Simon, April 2017

elopement review joe and simon under willow tree

“We had the best day ever, everything was utterly perfect and we really did want to say a huge thank you for everything. It was all that we wanted and more. Every single person we came into contact with were just incredible and we felt so looked after. The grounds are so beautiful and we were so thankful for the beautiful weather.

Clare was amazing and we cannot wait to get the pictures back from her.

The cottage was beautiful, we just loved it and we did try to leave it was we found it.

We picked up a property magazine as we would love to move down that way!!

I just cannot get over what an amazing day we had and that’s all down to you so thank you for making my wedding day the best day ever.

We’ll be in touch soon,

Joanna and Simon xxx”

Kristy & Peter, March 2017

elopement review page kristy peter and baby

“It really was a wonderful day! Thank you so much for all that you did to make it so perfect. I think it’s wonderful that we could get that ‘big day’ experience with such an intimate guest list. Everyone was so warm and friendly; it really put us at our ease and allowed us to enjoy the day. Yours is a truly exceptional venue. I’m so pleased we were able to get married there.

Our forever thanks,

Kristy, Peter & Viggo xxx”

 

Leanne & Chris, March 2017

elopement review page leanne and chris riverwalk

“Wow!  We did it!  We are married!  Was a lovely day.   The venue was fantastic, Nicola made sure we wanted for nothing.  The flowers are amazing, I love them.  The food was gorgeous, I want the main course again!  And the photographer Clare was brilliant.   Thank you for everyone who helped and let me be a diva to a princess yesterday.”

 

Louisa & Nathan, January 2017

elopement review louisa and nathan

“Hi Nicola

We would like to thank you and your husband for your part in our special day and allowing us to get married at your wonderful home and gardens – we will never forget it.

Thank you for everything

Nath & Lou”

 

Vanessa, October 2016

elopement review page vanessa and gary

“Hi Nicola,

I would just like to thank you and your team once again for making our wedding day perfect.  Running your own business and living almost 400 miles away from a wedding venue could prove problematic when planning a wedding, I am so pleased this was not the case when we booked our elopement with you.

You were constantly at the end of an email answering all my questions, no matter how mundane.  Any need was met by you and your amazing friendly staff.

I was worried that as the flowers and cake were all included in the cost, corners would have been cut however this was not the case at all.

The flowers Amanda put together for me were all that I had hoped they would be, it was almost as if she had an insight into my mind – they were that perfect 😀

The food and cake Harrie made were just as amazing, and the extra meals for our guests were worth every penny and more.

We had Clare take our photos.  I hate having photos taken, but she helped ease the pain as she is so friendly.  And the photos we’ve had back are stunning.

We wanted a small and intimate wedding with just our sons and 2 friends present to witness,  this is why we opted for one of your elopement wedding packages.

Your venue is perfect, the honeymoon cottage was beautiful and the views and surrounding area were absolutely stunning <3

You and your team put so much love, care and thought into making the day magical for us, I genuinely cannot thank you all enough.

So thank you once again for our amazing day <3 <3

Big Hugs,

Vanessa xx”

 

Alice & Jonathan, October 2016

elopement review page alice and johnathan

“We had the most perfect wedding at Ever After and were so lucky to find somewhere that was able to offer just what we were looking for.  My husband and I wanted to have an elopement wedding but didn’t want to compromise on all the fine details that would go in to a more traditional day. We still wanted to have great food, a wedding cake, professional photographs and a beautiful venue that wearing my dream wedding dress would not look out of place in. We searched and searched for venues that would offer such a package and when coming across Ever After online it literally looked too good to be true. We loved the decor and luxury it seemed to offer and were just blown away by the truly magical setting. I went to visit the setting and it was more spectacular than photos even show. Nicola and the team were amazing at making sure we had everything we wanted without us having to do a thing and leading up to the wedding all we did was share a few  ideas on Pinterest for decor and the cake and flowers and the team created everything to meet and even surpass our vision. Nicola was always there to reassure and answer questions leading up to the day but we were truly able to leave everything to them and relax and then just turn up and enjoy the day.

The day was just so special, getting married in the glorious garden with a roaring fire in the background was magical. And to top it all off the honeymoon cottage was so classy and every little detail had been thought of to make it an amazing stay. Our wedding will truly be a day we will cherish forever and thanks to the beautiful photos we had that come as part of the package, we will have a beautiful record of everything. We cannot thank Nicola, Harrie, Clare and Amanda enough for making it possible. Anyone choosing to have their wedding at Ever After will not be disappointed.   My biggest bit of advice would be to sit back, relax and let them take care of all it.”

 

Lynda & Nigel October 2016

elopement review page lynda and nigel

“It was truly the most fabulous day…. everything we dreamed of. Thank you to you and especially Sally who was so helpful and supportive.

Everything was just perfect….Amanda’s flowers (they lasted two weeks!!), Jodie & Jess made me feel like a princess and Harrie’s menu was superb.

Mainly though I want to say that you are an incredible lady, who made the whole process seamlessly smooth, and relaxed. I didn’t have a clue what I was doing, but sitting in the cottage that day with you, everything just fell into place.

Again many, many thanks.”

 

Mel and Tim, March 2016

elopement review page mel and tim

“Nicola helped create a day of dreams and memories and I feel privileged to have worked with so many great people to make the day perfect. Finding a moment to say was my favourite is very hard. Of course the “I do” is one of the most precious but from the photos and video I could see we were smiling and genuinely happy throughout. The whole day was one wonderful moment. In a selfish way I am personally glad we eloped, the day was ours with no constraints or people to please, the moments were all ours and we can now share with others through our video and photos of the day. We created the perfect day with the help of Nicola, Amanda, Clare, Chris and Caroline, Jessica, Chloe and Harriet.”

Laura & Brad, March 2019

 

“Thank you so much for helping create such a wonderful day, it was just what we wanted.

After spending what felt like forever on google look for the perfect intimate wedding venue in the South West, i stumbled across Ever After. From the moment i saw ‘elope and have it all’ and the gorgeous photos from Clare Kinchin i knew this venue was for us. We could still have the full wedding experience (venue to ourselves, delicious wedding breakfast complete with mini wedding cake, gorgeous flowers) all whilst having the small, intimate wedding we wanted and as a bonus we hardly had to lift a finger, Nicola and her team would organise it all for us. The beautiful scenery and high standard of the suppliers gave us the confidence to book our wedding without visiting the venue. Everyone we dealt with made the whole process so simple. We were quite relaxed about what we wanted so it was lovely being able to give each supplier a rough idea (pinterest was defiantly our friend here) and they where all able to produce something amazing. The whole day was just perfect, i never thought i could be so relaxed on my wedding day. Knowing that everything was taken care of, along with not having to worry about making loads of guests happy,meant that we could both jut enjoy the day with our closest friends and family. If anyone is worried about booking their wedding at Ever After without seeing the venue, i would say go for it! The setting is more beautiful in real life and it was so simple being able to plan a wedding, all via email, in just a few months. Everything was incredible and we cant thank you enough. Best wishes,

Laura and Brad.”